A Change?

I did absolutely nothing when I got home from work today.  Well, that’s not exactly true.  I cleaned my blinds (again) and vacuumed up some of the flies that like to re-enact a scene from Amityville Horror.  Its the only reason I’m looking forward to cooler weather:  Fly season will be over.  I also played Sudoku on Facebook and RSVP’d for some meet-ups.  Not exactly a stellar afternoon.

I need a change; I like change….when its my idea.  Change gives you a new perspective on things.  Change shakes you up, knocks you down, and tests your ability to adapt….but this is a good thing.  When the chaos settles, you might find that you like the change, but you also might find that you definitely don’t.  Either way, you’ve made your mind up about something you might have never considered relevant before and you emerge from it a different person.  It’s called growing.

So I might have the opportunity to do some more growing soon.  My BFF is a teacher at a vocational school, and she mentioned me in her class.  She was talking about coding and said that this is what her friend does for a living.  That’s it, that’s all it took.  Apparently her work place approached her about me after her class let out, and told her that they are looking for someone to teach medical coding and was wanting to know if I’d be interested.

My first thoughts when she told me what happened at work that day was, “Why now?  Why didn’t this happen a year ago when I was desperate to move back to Bakersfield?  When I was checking the Bakersfield classifieds every Sunday?  When I absolutely NEEDED the change?”  The easy answer is that she wasn’t working at the vocational school yet, that she was still working at a Doctor’s office doing front office work and some billing.  I guess that’s the only answer really, but I can’t help but wish this opportunity came earlier.

Recently (meaning almost 6 months ago) I started training on Interventional Radiology, and am now the principal coder for IR procedures for the company I work for.  Its been a long and hard process, learning to understand the procedures and get the correct codes for them, but I’m doing really well and I love it!  Its been a goal of mine to be doing this kind of work for about 7 years, and I’ve been working at it for so long: taking IR classes, researching procedures that I came across and didn’t know how to code as I passed them along to the then principal IR coder, reading as much as I could about the guidelines until things started to make sense.  My goal is finally coming to fruition, and now this.

I told my BFF that its worth looking into and sent her my resume which she promptly delivered to whomever it needed to go to and be reviewed.  It never hurts to look, right?  I don’t want to slam the door on an opportunity just because it has bad timing.  My mind has been racing ever since, weighing the pros and cons.

Pro list: 1)  since I have a degree *coughA/Acough* my starting wage should be at least $28/hour. 2) cost of living is cheaper (I can rent a nice house for $350 LESS than what I pay for my one bedroom here). 3) I’ll be back with my family and won’t have to worry about whether or not I’ll be home for Christmas. 4) I’ll be able to afford the insulin for Smokey’s diabetes (cat) without it hurting my pocket book so much. 5) I’ll be salary, so I get paid for a full 40 week even though I’d only be at work for four days each week. 6) I’d be able to afford to see my family in Missouri every year. 7) Basque food.

Cons: 1) I like it here. 2) I like what I do. 3) I like where I work (company AND location). 4) I like my social activities. 5) I like the friends I’ve made here. 5) Not sure if I wouldn’t get bored with teach the same thing every 5 weeks. 7) I want to be in a relationship, and though I’ve not exactly had success out here, there are quite a few less opportunities in Bakersfield due to the much smaller population

I’m sure I’ll add more to both lists in the future, but those are the immediate ones that come to mind.  I guess I shouldn’t stress about it as I’ve yet to actually receive a job offer, but it sounds like I’m going to get one.  We’ll see what happens.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

