The Call

Well, I finally got it…..the phone call that could change my life.   I had a very nice chat with Jamey at San Joaquin Valley College and am scheduled to do my teach back next Wednesday in Bakersfield.  I scheduled it early enough so I can make sure I get back in time to deal with the street parking here in Long Beach.  Aren’t I practical?

Am I nervous?  No.  Excited?  Not really.  I am curious as to how I would do as a teacher.  I do have one thing that I look for in teachers, myself: Passion for the subject which I would be teaching.

I know, I know…..passion?  you’re passionate about coding?  Why, yes I am.  Its a challenge, its a puzzle, it involves research and every day you learn something new, or a new procedure comes out…..there’s always something.  Its talking to the people that are going to be having a procedure done on them, answering what questions I can and referring them to others that might answer aspects of their questions I can not.  Its fighting for the patient to make sure they aren’t over charged by up-coding, and fighting for the doctor so that he gets reimbursed for what he did.  I like fighting.

Will I like teaching, though, that is the question on the board here.  Will I like it enough to move back to Bakersfield?  The answer would have been a resounding “YES!!” a year ago, but my life is calm now….well, calmer than it was.  I have an active social life, there are activities I can do here that aren’t readily available in Bakersfield, if available at all, like Boffer fighting…which I know ISN’T available.

There are plenty of other things I know aren’t available in Bakersfield that I have access to here: kickboxing studios (there’s one in Bakersfield and its all heavy bag work), free line dancing lessons, and the RHIT program.  I know that I’ve dropped out of 2 of those 3 things, but the question of returning to them was never “if”, it was “when”.

There is also the work.  I think I would enjoy the challenge of teaching coding, and if I do it right I might just be able to instill the passion I have for it in others out joining the coding force.  It would be the same thing, though, every day….and then repeated when that term ends and the new one begins.  Will I get bored, or will the challenge of introducing this world to new people be enough to keep me happy?

Happy.  Happiness.  Happiness is a state of well-being and contentment, according to Merriam-Webster.  Subject Well Being (SWB) can be measured by the following: life satisfaction, positive affect, and negative affect.  Basically, if your satisfied with where you are in life, and have had positive results or effects which outweigh the negative results or effects, than you may have achieved a higher rating of SWB than someone who…..hasn’t.  (This is very poorly paraphrased by me, from Psychwiki)

There is only one area of my life which I am not satisfied, and maybe I’m afraid that moving to Bakersfield will result in my fear of becoming nothing more than my job.  I would fade away as an individual and never be anything more to anyone than a teacher.   Am I ready to give up hope? Or, by moving there, will I find what I want most in the world?

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in change, Life, work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

