The Aspiring Diabetic

They have a nickname for me at work: The Aspiring Diabetic.  I laughed with them when I heard it and then pushed it out of my mind for some time.  They planted a seed that day, and I didn’t know it, but it took root.  About a month ago that little seed found a crack in the concrete and started to grow, and eventually it bloomed.

I started paying attention to what I put into my body: sugar.  That’s pretty much it.  Sugar.  If someone is what they eat, I’m the sweetest person on the face of the earth!  Shake for breakfast, my morning coffee with 10 packets of sugar per cup (I had two cups) as well as sweetened vanilla flavored coffeemate, snacking on sweets that lie in wait for me around the office,  a Dr. Pepper for lunch (sometimes accompanied by a pizza pretzel from Wetzel’s Pretzels), a protein shake when I remember it, a bowl of cereal for a snack when I got home, and fast food for dinner….when I actually eat dinner.  Throughout my evening at home I would drink nothing but Dr. Pepper.  I believe I averaged about 120 oz of Dr. Pepper every day.  At least.

Wow, that totally blew my mind!  I haven’t been able to finish the box of Frankenberry cereal that’s still sitting in my cupboard.  Of course, I’d already polished off the Count Chocula and BooBerry cereal that I’d bought at the same time.  I am saved by the box of Honeynut Cheerios that counts as part of a nutritiously balanced breakfast….when served with orange juice, eggs, and something else that’s part of those food groups I vaguely remember hearing about in elementary school and college health class.

Since then I’ve cut back on the soda intake….a lot.  I’m down to 20 oz of Dr. Pepper a day and almost none on the weekends, as long as I hole up in my apartment and don’t go anywhere.  The coffee, a little better.  I used to make two 4 oz glasses in the coffee machine (espresso kinda) prepared with a total of 20 packets of sugar and my sugar-laced vanilla flavored coffeemate, now I make two 6 oz coffees with a total of 5 packets of sugar and about 1/2 of the vanilla coffeemate that I put in before.  By the end of the week, or when the vanilla coffeemate bottle is empty…whichever comes first, I’m quitting coffee completely.

I can’t quit the soda yet.  Not because I don’t want to, but I need it until my body adjusts to the lack of daily coffee caffeine intake.  I don’t want to trigger a migraine with the sudden lack of caffeine.  Truth to tell, since I’ve cut the soda intake by about 83% I went 3 weeks without a serious migraine.  I had migraines, but my medicine worked on the first dose and I was fine in a couple of hours.  I DID have a weekend long migraine this past weekend, so I don’t know what that’s about.  Its better than a debilitating migraine every weekend though.  🙂

Unfortunately what I have to do is what I’ve been saying I need to do for years now but never actually got around to doing.  I have to start eating like a diabetic.  I need to cut sugar out of my life.  This isn’t going to be easy since sugar season just started and lasts through Easter, and I am a sugar addict.  Fruits and veggies need to become the staple of my diet.  I’m not much of a meat eater, so I found some lower sugar protein drinks at Trader Joe’s that taste like sweetened chalk.

This is really going to suck.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in change, diet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

