Ask and you shall receive….

I posted earlier today that I felt the need to blog and a friend jokingly said, “Blog about me, blog about me!”  Heather, this one’s for you….you know which one you are.

In January of 2008 I met an absolutely amazing person, someone I am proud to call a friend.  We first connected over our fascination with serial killers (really, are you surprised?) and I really enjoyed her company, and that of her friends.  It was kinda of funny really, because I was more excited about meeting her and her friend Robyn than I was meeting someone else that night.  No offense (you know who you are), but really I was looking for more female friends at the time and I met a woman that I thought could be a new, really good friend and was excited about getting to know her.

I believe I have gotten to know her, and I still enjoy her company as much as I did in the beginning.  She is outspoken and honest, and not afraid to speak her mind about any subject she is passionate about.  These are traits that I admire in a person, because you always know exactly where you stand.

She listens to people, not only to just what its said, but HOW it’s said.  She respects the opinions of others regardless of whether or not she agrees with them.  She understands that not everyone thinks the same way and though she may try to debate with you and sway your mind, its mostly just to test your conviction.  She doesn’t push you to think like her, she pushes you to not only understand what you are saying, but to test your knowledge of the subject, and to make sure that you believe in what you are saying.  Its a lot of fun to watch.

If your point of view is steadfastly different, she will respect it and try to understand your way of seeing things.  She understands that its the different experiences that we all go through or witness that develop who we are.  She also understands that it is that which makes us different that makes us special, unique.  She appreciates individuality, she supports it, and even if you want to do something or make a decision she doesn’t agree with, she will support you because she knows that this is something that is important to you.

She is very sensitive to the feelings of others, and will help you if she can, even if its to just listen to someone rant, or be there for them when they cry, or to give them a hug.  She really helped me through a seriously bad time in my life, and even though she heard about it time and time again (I tend to repeat myself), she was always there for me when I needed someone to be there.  She didn’t tell me things she thought I wanted to hear, but gave me her sincere input and helped me put my life back together.  She would do this for any one of her friends, she doesn’t shy away when things go bad.

On the flip side of that, she understands that she has qualities that people might not understand or consider faults.  She recognized qualities in herself that she might not be overly fond of, and she works on it.  Like everyone is to themselves, she is her harshest critique.  I find it interesting that she is to tolerant of others imperfections, but not of her own.  She is always trying to make herself a better person, to remove those qualities in herself that she might find undesirable.  She is extremely modest and down plays some of her achievements or qualities that people really admire in her.  She is inspiring in her quest to better herself, and in her dedication when she sets a course for herself.

She brave.  She takes chances.  She made a huge gamble about a year ago and I am so proud of her because she’s done nothing but better herself.  She realized she was in a position where she wasn’t happy and she changed it.  That took a huge amount of courage and a leap of faith, and I believe its paying off for her.  I don’t think I could ever be that brave.

So there you have it, my friend in a nutshell.  She listens, she’s honest, and she respects her friends for who they are.  She has spent her life watching people and has developed an insight with people and situations that never ceases to amaze me.  She doesn’t try to change people, and she doesn’t get upset when things don’t go her way but instead adapts to the situation and walks with a smile and her head high because she tried.  She will give you the shirt of her back, and never ask for anything in return.  People think success is whether or not you “make it”, but I think success is in the willingness to try.  I think she has made a success of her life, and this is evident by how much her friends and her family love her.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

