Happy Endings…..

Fairy Tales and Happy Endings……these are things that as children we are raised to believe in.

The human race has been raised by stories.  Thousands of years ago, stories were told to remind us of our past, where we came from, our heritage.  They were also told to pass down religious beliefs, as well as morals.  Stories are how children learn about life, because you can’t  exactly go out and experience it when you’re 5.

For the past 30 years, our world’s children have been raised to believe in happy endings, that everything all works itself out in the end.  Most every little girl dreams  that she is a beautiful princess and that, when she is old enough, her true love will find her and whisk her away to a life of wedded bliss.  Most every boy dreams of being a warrior, or a prince, dashing off into adventure, risking life and limb to save his village or, depending on how old the boy is, bravely saving the damsel in distress and sweeping her off her feet.

Do you ever wonder why stories always end with the happy ending?  Because if they went on to the next day, that ending just might not turn out to be so happy, and we can’t have that now, can we?  What happens 5 years down the road when the princess/damsel is saddled down with 5 kids instead of going off to balls and dancing the night away, and the prince/warrior is stuck at a 5-9 job to support his family instead of rushing off to the next adventure?

Happy Endings are like Santa Claus, something you’re taught to believe in by your parents and by society.  People believe in Happy Endings because they want to, because everyone hopes that it will happen to them.  My mom thought she had her happy ending when she and my dad got married, but now look at them: divorced.  Mom’s happier now, but she still misses dad.  Her happy ending would be if he came back to her, not that she’ll admit it to anyone outside of me and my brothers.   Dad’s happy ending came in the form of a boat named Wailele, far away from his family that loves and misses him.

I don’t believe in Happy Endings, and I suspect there are millions of people just like me who have lost their belief in them as well.  We are the Princesses and Princes that wake up 30 years later to find that the toad really is just a toad, the dragon really is just a windmill, and midnight just means you’re a day older than you were before.

The Little Mermaid statue in Denmark

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

