Feeling Better

I’m feeling better, and its about damned time too.  I’ve had two colds and possibly a flu in the last three weeks, and the month before that I just felt like shit and was damned tired all the time.  I was miserable, every day I came home from work, stretched out on the couch in front of the tv, and stayed there until it was time for bed.  Sometimes I slept, sometimes I didn’t (while on the couch), but I always just felt…..bad.

Seems like a change in my diet is making things better.  Since this past Friday, I’ve actually felt ok (besides Sunday and Monday when I was sick) and have been able to start doing things around the apartment again.  Saturday I actually got outside and played ultimate frisbee and had a lot of fun.  Saturday night I even felt well enough to attend a friend’s birthday party.  Last night I did…what did I do….?  Oh yeah!  I went grocery shopping and bought a TON of food.  I carried in about 15 heavy bags of groceries, and yeah, I was tired.  THEN I changed the cat litter in the litter box!  I know this doesn’t sound like a whole lot, but trust me, it wore me out.   Tonight I carried two loads of laundry up two flights of stairs and put it in the washer, then came back down and washed dishes I started soaking when I got home from work, then put a new load in the sink to soak.  When that was done I went back up the stairs and put my wash in the dryer, came back down and washed the 2nd load of dishes, ate dinner (a piece of chicken and a piece of pizza a coworker sent home with me…from Shakeys.  No mojos though), then went back up the stairs to get my laundry.

The only mishap was when I got my clean clothes out of the dryer, I found I didn’t check all my pockets and the load in that dryer got ALL tangled up in dental floss.  Yes, I said it, dental floss.  I know, you expected receipts or something and for me to have little bits of paper stuck to my clothes, but no.  Not me.  That’s too…..ordinary.  The dental floss had wound its way around 95% of my clothes, and though some I was able to detangle from the flosses web, other articles had to be cut free from the mess.

Yup, I’m tired.

So whats different?  Why do I suddenly have this…well…energy isn’t the right word.  Why do I suddenly have this capability to not sit on the couch all day after work?  Protein.  Apparently I need lots of it.  If I don’t have enough, I feel like doo-doo.  I’m sick of protein.  I eat SO MUCH!!  2 protein drinks a day, I snack on almonds and/or peanuts all day long at work, I eat egg sandwiches when I get home, cottage cheese, string cheese, just reading this is making me ill.  But it gives me energy.  It makes me feel better.  It lets me get off my ass.

Tomorrow I go to the gym, nothing major.  Some weights and walking on the treadmill for at least a half hour.  I’d like to swim but that all depends on the weather; I can’t seem to get into a pool if its not warm outside.  Don’t ask, I blame swim team and having to practice in the early morning when it was 30 flipping degrees outside.  Yes, the pool was heated to a nice 65 degrees.  It wasn’t enough.  Friday I’m off to CC for line dancing lessons and the 2 hours of cardio it brings me.  I need to get back on my feet, mostly because laying around all day makes my body hurt, but also because it makes me feel better.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in diet, exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

