A wish for my daughter on Mother’s Day

Today is (kinda) my first Mother’s Day.  I know, I know, I’m still pregnant, but some people insist that I am still a mommy so I got mixed wishes, both for Happy Mother’s Day, and Happy Pre-Mother’s Day.

The day started out well with a Mother’s Day call from my Daddy.  He is in Florida right now and says he is going to make his way up to North Carolina so he can stash his boat at a place he can afford before flying out here for the Big Event (Rachel’s birth).  I lounged around a bit after that and then got ready to go to the Renaissance with Rachel’s Daddy and his boys.  It was a lot of fun and I am exhausted.   I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

I spent a lot of the day thinking about Rachel, about her first Renaissance fair, whether or not I’d be able to afford to dress her like a little princess with garlands of flowers for her hair, what she might like, how she might react….and I found myself wondering what kind of person she might be, the kind of person she might become.  The kind of person I want her to be, if I have any say about it (nature vs nurture).

I hope she will be compassionate and kind to all living things, both animals and humans alike.

I hope that she will be strong in spirit, yet gentle in temper.

I hope that she will be curious about the world, and never lose that curiosity, even when she’s 80.

I hope that she will be intelligent & smart, and yet still be able to use common sense.

I hope that she will be neither a leader nor a follower.  Should she decide to follow, let it be because she believes in whom she follows, and not just follow the crowd.  If she decides to lead, that she does so with consideration of the cause and her followers, and with the knowledge of the responsibility she has taken on.  I also hope that she has the strength to stand alone and accept her individuality, embrace it, even when others tease her for it.

I hope she be dedicated in everything she tries, to do her best and follow through.  To take from each endeavor a lesson that can be applied to whatever she tries tomorrow.

I hope that she will find passion, be it in art, music, sport, or whatever.  I would also hope that she will be able to not obsess in her passion, and still find joy in other things.

I hope she is sweet and friendly to all, but that she recognizes when someone is trying to mislead her and be strong enough to walk away.

I hope that she lives her life with conviction, but be open to new opinions and ideas.  I would also hope that she respects other people’s beliefs and opinions, and not judge people for believing different things.

I hope that she may enjoy nice things, but to realize that life isn’t about what you have, but how you live.

I hope that she has the self-confidence to believe in herself, but to be humble instead of arrogant.

I hope that she appreciates what she has, what she has been given, and to not take anything for granted or worry about what she doesn’t have.

I hope that she live courageously, fearlessly, but not with reckless abandon.

I hope that she finds love, be it with man or woman.  I hope that when her heart gets broken that she is strong enough to heal from it in a healthy manner, and become stronger for it.  I hope she would not close herself off from the world.

I hope that she be a happy person, taking joy in everything, and not ever have to deal with depression.

I guess I have the same wish that every parent has for their child, that they be a better person than the parent.  I wonder what parts of me my child will have, and I hope I have something good in me to give her.

I hope I can help her grow into a good person, a strong person, a better person than I am.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

