Everything Will Be Ok

Asleep in the arms that love her

Everything Will Be Ok…..this is what I tell myself when I look at her sleeping in my arms. Her eyes closed, face relaxed, I hold her against my breast and just watch her breathe.  She sighs softly, the sigh of innocence, of naivety.  The sigh of a child who knows that when she opens her eyes, you will be there.

 

 

 

Happy Girl

Everything Will Be Ok…..this is what I tell her when she looks at me, her eyes trusting me completely.  There is no reason thus far for her to feel anything but safe, loved, content, and I hope that this doesn’t change.

 

Tummy Time with Grandma Cathie

Everything Will Be Ok….this is what I tell my parents when they call me to see how we’re doing.  Do I have food, money for bills?  Am I getting sleep?  Am I getting help?  They worry about me, about Rachel, about us.

 

 

The Princess and her Daddy

Everything Will Be Ok….This is what I tell friends and family when they inquire as to whether or not the baby’s Daddy is helping.  I watch them when they are together and I honestly assure them that he is helping, he loves his little girl.  He will always be there for her.  I listen to their sighs of relief, knowing that they will ask me again, always expecting a different answer.

 

Everything Will Be Ok….this is what I tell myself when I meet my own eyes in the mirror.  This is what I tell myself in the morning when I wake, and when as I drift off to sleep at night.  This is what I tell myself every minute of every day, and have been since she was born.  What do my eyes tell you?

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in parenthood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

