The First Step Is…

The first step is admitting you have a problem, and around Christmas time I finally admitted that I do have a problem.  I have a big problem.  I have turned into a shopaholic.

Retail therapy has never been a thing of mine.  Anyone that has known me for any length of time will tell you that I am not a materialistic person.  Its not that I don’t want or like nice things, I would just rather spend my time and money on having fun with my friends and enjoying my life than on things that will just end up in the trash or at an estate sale after I am dead and gone.  That was before Rachel.

I love buying Rachel clothes.  She just looks so cute in EVERYTHING, and up until a few months ago I was getting the cutest clothes from a couple of friends who have a daughter or a niece that are older, and therefore bigger, than Rachel.  This has allowed me to spend a little extra money than I normally would on clothes for Rachel.  Since she had everything she needed, spending a little money on a really cute outfit for her every once in a while wasn’t such a big deal.

Well, she has officially passed my friend’s daughter in size, but really she has just barely pulled ahead.  My friend is petite, and her daughter is petite.  She just turned two and has just moved in to the 18 month size clothing and size 5 shoes.  At 17 months, Rachel is in the 18-24 size clothing and the 5 1/2 size shoe, so she isn’t THAT much bigger than my friend’s daughter, but big enough that Violet will now be getting some of Rachel’s hand-me-downs.  Unfortunately, knowing that one of my clothing resources is no longer available to Rachel, I have to learn I cannot spend money on outfits that are on the more expensive side.  This has been harder than one might think.

I had been trying and failing to curb my shopping on Rachel’s behalf, and it was a couple weeks before Christmas that it hit me.  I was standing in a very dangerous store for me (Bobbi’s Hallmark in the Town and Country shopping center at Stockdale and Gosford).  This store has so much cute stuff, and they sell Mudpie clothing which is one of my favorite brands of children’s clothing.  I was actually looking at a hooded Mudpie poncho of faux zebra fur with pink faux fur trim.  It was SO cute, and it was $57 and as I stared at it TRYING to figure out how I could afford it, that I realized there will ALWAYS be something that I think she has to have.

Amazingly, once I had that thought, I was able to walk away from the poncho.  I still think of it every now and again, wish I had bought it, but then I try to think of all the other clothes that I can look forward to buying.  I have been able to settle on a sort of compromise with my checkbook.  I still go on the clothing sites that I love to look at (Sophia’s Style, Mudpie, Deux Par Deux, etc) and I go on Ebay, or sometimes Craigslist (rarely), or even Amazon, and try to find my outfits or shop by brand to see what they have.  I only buy something if shipping is free, and I keep it under $10, though I will go as high as $15 if it is SERIOUSLY cute.  I have a list of favorite sellers that I have bought things from and the clothing has been in mint condition, and sometimes still have the tags.  Most of the clothing I buy has been worn before, but I don’t care.  All I care about is that there are no stains and its in good condition.

So yes, I have to admit that I am a shopaholic.  I admit I do have a problem, but I have identified it and am able to keep my spending under control.  Well, so far…its only been a month since I’ve realized this!  🙂

 

 

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

