Attitude

Its amazing how well things are going for the me right now.  I’m moving into a two bedroom apartment this month, so Rachel will be getting her own room.  I am having so much fun with the decorating ideas for her room that I can’t wait to go out and buy the supplies and get to it.  This two bedroom is also $125 less per month than the one bedroom I have right now, and its bigger even if you remove the second room!  It also comes with TWO parking spots!  No more parking on the street for this lady!  Bonus is that one of my besties will be living 100 feet away, and this bestie has a daughter around Rachel’s age so Rachel will have a playmate really close by.

I love my job, but my psycho co-worker has been giving me thoughts of finding a new one.  You really can’t beat the pay and the benefits, but she is driving me crazy.  Its not that she’s a bad person, because she’s not.  When she’s in a good mood she is a lot of fun, but her mood swings make it so hard to deal with her.  She can come into work bouncy and fun, and at the drop of a hat she’s sulking and pouting, and becomes rude.  I’ve been trying to apply a new attitude towards her at work, which is basically to not let anything she says or does get to me.  I’ve been making sure I read my “Language of letting go” book every day at work to help me with this.

This has been working for me so far.  Since I’ve made this decision its been easier for me to get up on time and get to work.  She’s actually noticed a difference, saying that I’ve been in a better mood lately.  This made me think that maybe my attitude has been part of the problem.  Its not a chicken or the egg type scenario (which came first), I know having to deal with her has been hard for me and has been seriously bringing me down, but since I’ve decided to change my attitude, I just ignore her now when she is in a bad mood.  If she wants to be a bitch, thats fine, and if she is a bitch to me I will call her on it right then and there because her personal problems aren’t mine, and I shouldn’t have to deal with her bad mood.  Eventually she will hang herself either by giving attitude to the wrong person or giving the wrong information to someone who will complain.

My relationship with Rachel’s Daddy is going well, too.  I’ve been trying to adopt the same attitude to her Daddy as I have to my psycho-coworker, though I’ve been trying to apply it a lot longer with him than I have with her.  He’s been pretty cool lately, and has even offered to help me paint the new apartment.  He was going to just do Rachel’s bedroom, but the landlord hasn’t painted the new apartment and isn’t going to, and since he’s not charging me rent this month I’m not going to complain.  I asked him if I could paint Rachel’s room blue and he said yes, so I’m going to paint the rest as well.  No, not blue, but a nice, warm, light neutral tone that maybe he’ll like and I won’t have to paint it when I move out.

Rachel’s Daddy said he would paint the Rachel’s room, and when we talked about the apartment I told him I would pay him.  He said he would do it for free, and if it was just Rachel’s room I’d not have offered to pay him.  That would be something nice a daddy would be doing for his little girl, giving her a pretty room to play in.  Painting a whole two bedroom apartment that he won’t be living in?  That’s a job.  Even though I will be helping, that will still be a lot of his time and a lot of hard work.  Also, he has experience painting apartments since he helps his mom paint whenever one of her tenets move out.  That gives him knowledge and experience I don’t have, and I think all the time and knowledge is something he should be re-reimbursed for.

I know I complain about him a lot, but I really do try to be fair when it comes to him.

So, since those parts of my life seem to be going well, there is only one more problem that needs to be resolved.  Me.  A friend lent me a book called, “It Starts With Food”, and its pretty good.  Its an easy read and it explains things well, but what I like most is that it is conversational.  What I mean by that is, its not a lot of jargon and big words and scientific theories that I have to try to wrap my head around.  Its written in such a way that it sounds more like one of my friends talking to me, not lecturing, just talking  to me about the information and I really like that.  It also explains those scientific theories simply, in a way that doesn’t make my head hurt.

I can’t say that I am going to be able to make all the changes that it is suggesting all at once, and some things I may not be able to give up all together.  The book basically says that the food you eat should be good for you and make you feel better.  I will be limiting my intake of dairy and see how I feel without it, and then compare it to how I feel after I have a glass.  Dairy has always been my favorite thing, and I don’t mean ice cream or anything, I mean milk.  Plain old milk.  YUM!

Beans and rice will be hard as well.  My parents will tell anyone that will listen about how the only thing I would eat when I was little was beans mixed with rice.  I’ve loved it ever since I can remember.  In fact, I could live on milk, beans, and rice for lunch and dinner for the rest of my life and be happy, but not for breakfast.  I need eggs for my breakfast.  LOVE LOVE LOVE EGGS!  ALMOST as much as I love milk.

I do plan on making changes every time I shop.  I’m going through the book and finding all the things that can be used as substitutes and things they recommend I eat and I will be replacing things I normally buy with those.  Not all at once, I don’t think, but every time I shop I will replace something.  I’ve already bought spaghetti squash and I’m eager to try a recipe I have where you use spaghetti squash as a replacement for spaghetti noodles!  This will be fun!  Seriously though, I am very overweight and I do need to get serious about losing weight, and all the exercise in the world won’t help me if I’m still eating like crap.

All in all, things are going well, and for once in my life I can say that I have nothing serious to complain about right now.  This scares me.  I’m not on top of the moon or anything, but things are going so well that I’m afraid there is some invisible shoe hanging above me that is waiting to drop on my head.  I told this to my mom and she said I should just relax and enjoy that things are going so well right now, because I can’t do anything about that shoe until it drops.   My mom is pretty awesome.

She’s also right.

 

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

