It Seems Like Only Yesterday….

It seems like only yesterday that I was woken up a little before 4:30 in the morning by the call of nature….only to notice that my water had broke.

It seems like only yesterday that I was holding her for the first time.

It seems like only yesterday that I brought her home to our tiny, one bedroom apartment.

081820121Yesterday, it seems, has turned into yesteryear twice over, and I don’t know how it happened. One second I’m hold a tiny, fragile little body in my arms, and then I blink and those little legs are now hanging over my arms. The little body that fit so snug in my arms is now all arms and legs of her own. The little baby that used to laugh and coo while lying on her floor gym is now running away laughing, waiting for me to give chase.

My Little PumpkinThe baby the used to squeal in delight over anything and nothing, still squeals in delight but now yells, “Look!” The baby who used to toddle down the hallway now runs with long legs in sneakers. The baby who I would kiss and tuck in at night now has a baby of her own that she insists on kissing on the forehead and tucking into our bed at night, making sure the blankets cover her, before she lets me tuck her in.

New Years Walk 2013She dances to all kinds of music, and it doesn’t matter where we are. She sings to me from her car seat while we drive home from daycare. She cooks in her pretend kitchen, and if I leave my shoes on the floor in the living room, she puts them away for me. She still can’t sit through a story but she loves to look at books. She grabs my hand and has me sit down so we can play or color in her notebook. She loves to play in water.

Meeting BumblebeeShe is very curious, and very sweet. She will hug her friends when she sees them, and she says Hi and Bye to everyone she sees. If someone looks upset she will see if they are ok. My little angel, however, does have a little devil in her too! She throws tantrums, but will turn it into a smile and a laugh unless she is tired. She throws her food on the floor, or on the couch, if you aren’t watching. If you tell her she can’t have something she has already grabbed, she will throw it on the floor in defiance as if to say, “If I can’t have it neither can you!” Sometimes, she doesn’t like to share.

031120131She has her Mommy’s indoor voice (which means she doesn’t have one), and her Daddy’s gentle disposition. She has her Mommy’s curiosity, and her Daddy’s watchful eyes. She has her Mommy’s temper, and her Daddy’s obsession with cell phones and computers. She has taken her Mommy’s smile and made it her very own. She has taken her Daddy’s eyes and put a mischievous little twinkle in them. She has taken from us and made something wonderful that is completely her own.

063020131It is amazing to watch her grow. It is amazing to realize that she has grown so much! I am full of wonder and curiosity over the kind of person she will become, but at the same time I try to enjoy each day I have with my little girl and try not to blink too often. I’m afraid the next time I blink, when I open my eyes she may be graduating from college!

 

 

 

 

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

