Ye Olde Christmas Rant

I remember Christmas when I was a little girl, a long long time ago before cable, DVD, Tivo, DVR, Youtube, Pandora, Netflix, Hulu, and everything else technology has given us.   Back when there were 13 channels and no such thing as a remote control.  Back when the TV Guide was studied by the whole family to decide who was going to watch what, and when.

It wasn’t Christmas time until you saw the listing of two movies: Charlie Brown Christmas Special, and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer.  For me there was a third movie called Small One.  It was the story of the donkey that carried Mary into Bethlehem, before Joseph and Mary had acquired him.  It was when these movies came on that Christmas was officially here.

Back then, these movies were a family affair.  We kids would remember the exact time and channel they would come on and wait anxiously for that night to arrive when, after dinner had been served, dishes had been washed, and Daddy had watched the new, we would change the channel at the appointed time and all sit down on the couch with some popcorn.  During this time, everyone got along, even if it was because everyone agreed and wanted to watch the same thing.  A rare thing in a household at that time.

We now live in a time where we can watch these movies at any time of day, night, or year!  While technology has made everything more convenient, it has taken some of the excitement, anticipation, out of the season.  Well, for me at least, and it leaves me at a loss of what I can do in order to provide my 3 year old daughter with that same sense of excitement for the Christmas season.

She loves the Christmas tree and the decorations, and I can’t wait to take her around Bakersfield to look at all the Christmas lights on Christmas Eve.  I’m hoping to find something to take her to tomorrow, some Christmas light experience around here that would be special.  I remember riding on a wagon with my Dad that was pulled by a mule.  About twenty of us sat on benches all bundled up with warm clothes and blankets on a cold December night while we rode around the Westminster neighborhood looking at the Christmas lights, singing Christmas Carols, and sipping some hot chocolate.  I would love for my daughter to have memories such as those, and while I’m not looking to recreate my memories for her, I’m looking for a way to make the holiday just as special for her so she can have memories of her own that are just as special to her as mine are to me.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Childhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

