Across the Room

I stand in the doorway and look into the room and I sense, more than see, the  crowd of people.  I feel the air being pushed around while people walk from one group to another.  I feel the heat from the people amassed in the room sweep across my face.  I hear the ice clinking against the sides of glasses and the warm, amber liquid sloshing around, every once in a while I hear the sound of a drop hitting the floor.  A  soothing, gentle hum is created from the multiple conversations about absolutely nothing.

I sense the people, but I do not see them.  My eyes sweep over the room and see one person who stands still amidst the madness of movement around him.  He wears a black leather trench coat that only goes to his mid-thigh.  Yes, he is taller than the average man, less then half a foot between him and being seven feet.  His blonde hair has recently been cut, worn short and edges straight just above his collar.

I can’t see them, but i know he wears black ankle boots underneath his pressed jeans, polished so they have a respectable shine.  His jacket is unzipped showing the collared, plaid shirt he wears underneath it.  He is unadorned with jewelry other than a single brass ring worn on his hand.  I wonder if he wears it on his wedding-ring finger, or if it is on his right hand.

My heart starts pounding in my chest and my breath comes short.  I start to sweat and tremble just a little.  I panic.  People are waiting to see me in there, people that I’m looking forward to seeing and so I must go in….but I don’t want to.  I don’t want to see him, not because I’m afraid I’m not over him.  I don’t want to see him because I’m afraid he’s been long over me.

About Chaos5150

I'm a medical coder by day, hermit by night, a 24 hr mommy, and a closet line-dancer whenever I get the chance. I love my daughter, I love my job, I love my friends, I love my cats, and I love my family. I love the dry heat, driving into the middle of the desert at night to see the moon and the stars, beading jewelry, torturing the unaware, and scaring people. People say I'm evil, but I'm not. I'm just a little mischievous.
This entry was posted in Love/Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

